top of page

Student recipients of the award were announced at the CSPJ sponsored Northeast Ohio Poverty Summit.  As part of their award, students served a meal together at the West Side Catholic Center, and determined a worthy social-service agency to which CSPJ, in the name of student award winners, had made a donation of $500.  The beneficiary organization of 2006-2007 was the InterReligious Task Force on Central America (

Sarah Finch - Beaumont School

Elyse Glowacki - Elyria Catholic

Bryan Shay - Notre Dame Cathedral Latin

Colleen Brent - Padua Franciscan

Jayson Gerbec - St. Ignatius

Clarissa Lake - St. Joseph Academy

Jon Taus - Walsh Jesuit



Student recipients of the award were announced at this year’s CSPJ sponsored Fair Trade Fashion Show, May 10th at the Independence Civic Center


Donna Friedman – St. Joseph Academy

Caitlin Waickman - Magnificat

Ryan Andorka – Benedictine

Katherine Simoncic - Lake Catholic

Bridget Kent - NDCL

Kevin Garven - St. Ignatius

Stephanie Gurgol – Holy Name

Nick Messina – Walsh Jesuit



Nethrie Idippily - Cleveland Central Catholic

Samira Rhodes – Cleveland Central Catholic

Astrid Tres - Cleveland Central Catholic

Sophie Grodsinsky – Walsh Jesuit


Adam Morgan – Lake Catholic High School

Mercedes Engle – Saint Martin de Porres High School

Taylor Whisler – St. Joseph Academy

Tom Corrigan – St. Ignatius High School


Claire Grega - Beaumont School

Freddy Keppler - Holy Name

Matt Leibenauer - Lake Catholic

Mar Galizio - Magnificat

En’Ante Pearl - St. Ignatius

Samantha King  - St. Martin de Porres

Mercedes Engle - St. Martin de Porres


Elizabeth Clarke - Beaumont School

Julie Lazanich - Lake Catholic

Charles Essi - St. Ignatius

Sarah Taylor - St. Martin de Porres


Damian Cowan - St Martin de Porres High School

Danielle Dejak - Beaumont School 

Darnesha Gales - St Martin de Porres High School

Shane Guhde - Saint Ignatius High School

Dominic Gideon - Saint Ignatius High School

Norman Kotoch - Lake Catholic High School

Tessa Kruchan - Beaumont School

Daniel Miljak - Lake Catholic High School

Caroline Mills - Saint Joseph Academy

Jeremiah Ockunzzi - Saint Ignatius High School

Trevor Suttie - Lake Catholic High School

Melissa Waltos - Saint Joseph Academy


Sam Cicconetti - Lake Catholic High School

Dominic Gideon - Saint Ignatius High School

Caroline Mills - Saint Joseph Academy

Melissa Waltos - Saint Joseph Academy


Abigail Gonzales - Saint Joseph Academy

Emily Keller - Saint Joseph Academy

Connor Robinson - Lake Catholic High School

Mitchell Ford - Saint Ignatius High School


Ann Marie Brady - Saint Joseph Academy

Jackie Kluznik – Beaumont School

Isaiah Maldonado - Saint Ignatius High School

Mary Martin – Beaumont School

Emma Stalder - Saint Joseph Academy


Collin Davis - Cleveland Central Catholic
Ally Ulrich - Lake Catholic
Josh Lazanich - Lake Catholic
Peter Harb - Saint Ignatius High School
Riley Justice - Saint Joseph Academy
Grace Davis - Saint Joseph Academy
Dominique Gardner - Saint Martin de Porres
Hailey Barnett - Villa Angela Saint Joseph


Bridget Danko - Beaumont

Tatu Wadesisi - Cleveland Central Catholic

Tobias Engel - St. Ignatius 

Kiera Reilly - St. Joseph Academy

Bishop Anthony M. Pilla Peace and Justice Award

The Bishop Anthony M. Pilla Peace and Justice Award, is a sign of our gratitude for his service to the diocese of Cleveland, and his inspiration to its youth.  This award will be given annually, through the Catholic Schools for Peace and Justice network, which Bishop Pilla helped found.   It is given to graduating seniors who, through their involvement and leadership in CSPJ activities, were nominated and selected by the faculty of diocesan schools.   Each school’s selected students will receive a plaque to commemorate their honor.  In addition, a permanent plaque of honor will be displayed at the Diocesan Social Action Office, where CSPJ meetings are sometimes held throughout each year.

bottom of page